Log in

Healthy Forests, Today and Tomorrow

Board of Directors


President  Paul Deizman, Springfield, IL (217) 381-9619, Email

Vice-President  Tricia Bethke, Naperville, IL (630) 234-7325, Email

Secretary  Dave Gillespie, Chatham, IL (217) 483-2711, Email

Treasurer  Brad Petersburg, Galena IL (641) 420-5851 Email

Past President  Tom Walsh

Technical Advisory Committee Chair and Program Coordination Supervisor  Chris Evans, University of Illinois Extension Forestry (618) 695-3383, Email

Program Coordinator  Zach DeVillez, Makanda, IL (618) 841-0932, Email


Region 1 Directors

Region 2 Directors   

Region 3 Directors

Stan Sipp, Mansfield, IL (217) 489-9003,

Sarah Vogel, Decatur, IL (217) 877-6042,

Region 4 Directors

Roger Smith*, Benton, IL (618) 927-2057,

Bill Buechel, Highland, IL (904) 480-0006,

Jeff Biethman, Red Bud, IL (618) 282-3651,

Gary Hake, Nashville, IL (618) 231-3081,

Mike McMahan, Vienna, IL (618) 977-3415,

* indicates term expiring, possible re-election during IFA's 2019 business meeting

We accept postal mail at

                            Illinois Forestry Association
                            P. O. Box 224
                            Chatham, IL    62629

Technical Advisors

Chris Evans, Advisory Committee Chair

University of Illinois Extension Forester

618/695-3383 (office)

Wade Conn

State Forester, USDA-NRCS

217/353-6647 (office)

Paul Deizman

IDNR Forest Resources

217/782-3376 (office)

John Edgington

University of Illinois (retired)


Jay Hayek

University of Illinois Extension Forester

217/244-0534 (office)

Stan Sipp



Gary Stratton

Forester - Retired IDNR


Chris Whittom

IDNR Forest Resources

217/785-8264 (office)

217/280-3659 (cell)

 [ Top of Page ]


The Association elects four officers -- a president and vice-president annually, and a secretary and treasurer in even-numbered years.  Their responsibilities are described in the ByLaws.  Both to represent the members, and to provide services to members, each region depicted in the map below elects up to five regional directors, who serve two-year-terms.

Regional Map


In addition, there are several committees that meet in between meetings to forward the work of the Association. Members are encouraged to contact a Director or our Executive Director if they would like to serve on a committee. Committee assignments are renewed and revised each year. Most committee meetings take place via conference call.

Executive Committee (Officers only) - deals with decisions when the board is not in session; handles other issues as necessary.

Finance Committee - develops the Association business plan, develops an annual budget, and accounts for all Association funds.

Legislative Committee - recommends legislative action for board approval; organizes IFA Lobby Day in the state legislature.

Marketing Committee - manages internal and external communications relating to the Association, including the newsletter, news releases, brochures, pamphlets, and publications.

(Ad Hoc) Nominating Committee

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software